Skip to content

Blueberry-Walnut French Toast

September 12, 2011

My favorite thing about meal making is the challenge behind it all. With no recipe to follow, no idea what’s ahead, there is just a hope that whatever ultimately ends up on the plate will be scrumptious.

With this in mind, last night I was hungry, and didn’t know what the heck to eat for dinner. Enter the kitchen-wide scavenger hunt. After some skimming, I plopped my frozen Ezekial bread on my counter and gave it some company with a bag of frozen berries, a block of butter, and an egg. Inspiration finally hit! Out came some walnuts, orange honey, cinnamon & vanilla.

That’s all I needed for some kinda (berry) wonderful French Toast!

I was pretty happy with my syrupy-sweet blueberry topping, but will throw in a splash of citrus next time for a sharper flavor. How’s that for a quick & easy din for one?

{Here’s My Recipe}

Blueberry-Walnut French Toast

For the “toast:”

2 slices multi-grain bread

1 egg

3 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla extract

splash of milk

Blueberry-Walnut Compote:

1/2 C. Frozen Blueberries

Small fistful walnut pieces

1 tbsp butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp Orange Blossom honey

1/4 C. water

1/2 lime, juiced

Toast: Combine milk, vanilla, cinnamon & egg. Soak bread in mixture and place slices on buttered skillet. Cook until browned.

Syrup: Melt butter in pan. Add berries, walnuts, vanilla, lime & honey. Combine ingredients & add water. Reduce until syrupy texture.

Cover French Toast with homemade syrup and enjoy!

Thanks for stopping by!

-HerMoveableFeast-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. neighbour permalink
    September 13, 2011 10:27 pm

    looks amazing! must try it out after my stove gets fixed/buy eggs.

  2. Trish Shoemaker permalink
    September 14, 2011 7:39 pm

    OMG! You made my mouth water. I had to try it for myself and it was delicious!! You are a regular Julia Child !! You Rock

    Mrs. Shoemaker

Leave a Reply

