Skip to content

When Life Gives You Lemons

September 15, 2011
tags: ,

You make lemonade. Heard that one about a thousand times…but how about when life hands you a bucket of crabs? A few days ago I was minding my own business, walking down a busy Washington street, when all of a sudden, I looked around me & saw swarms of young people toting cardboard buckets filled to the brim with Maryland Blue Crabs! I hunted around, figured out where to get my own, & walked away with arms full and a cheek-to-cheek kinda smile.

Took my bucket of six to my kitchen & stared for a few minutes. What to do? SheCrab Soup, Crab Cakes, Stew, Salads…

First things first, I put the (included) wooden mallet in my hand & started hacking away (what my neighbors must’ve thought!).

The meat was perfect, not overcooked & chewy as it often can be. Well seasoned, too. The accompanying hush puppies & slaw were the perfect sides.

It takes a lot of willpower not to eat crabmeat straightaway. A LOT. After I scarfed down the first two, I started a little pile of scraps to save. Eat a claw, save a claw…

By the time I was finished with the de-shelling business, I had enough leftover for a second meal. I’ll let you know how that went next time…

Thanks for stopping by!

-HerMoveableFeast-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 6:33 pm

    Everything looks so delicious on your blog! And the crab looks good, much better than those on Beta’s steak n crab.

    • September 16, 2011 8:55 pm

      Thank you! The crabs were pretty good, too bad I didn’t have any at Beta’s event to compare!

Leave a Reply

