Skip to content

Zucchini Fest @ My Place

September 20, 2011

I had a zucchini-centric day not too long ago. It started with a dream about Zucchini Bread, one of my all-time favorite Fall treats.

My hankering for a slice kept growing, so I gave in & grabbed a few zuccs at a nearby farmer’s market. The very best I’ve ever had was at a cousin’s around Christmastime, so I got ahold of her fantastic recipe & began baking.

I don’t have a grater, (nor do I have the room for one) so I went ahead & used my little food processor to get the zuccs ready for the cinnamony-sweet dough. Added a little honey, cut her recipe in half  & into the oven it went. Now, I don’t consider myself much of a baker, & I don’t like to brag, but this stuff was exactly what I’d hoped it would be. A slice of the season.

My entire apartment smelled lovely. If only they made candles that smelled like baking zucchini bread…soft, sweet, doughy, cinnamony, warm. The scent of Fall, all in one little pan filled with a chopped up green vegetable.

And green vegetables are supposed to be good for you, right?

_______

While the bread was baking, I looked at my little bit of unused zucchini & remembered that little bit of crab meat sitting in my fridge. Inspiration hit, once again. I would make Zucchini Crab Cakes!

Threw the remaining zucc in the food processor, added a 1/4 red onion. Then mixed in some homemade bread crumbs, a bit of tarter sauce, a handful of flour & half an egg. Shaved some pecorino romano into the bowl, added my precious crab meat, & molded four little cakes. Fried them in a pan of olive oil for about ten minutes & had the best of lunches!

A suggestion — Please do not let the idea of making Crab Cakes intimidate you. They are truly easy to make, & a great way to use up leftovers. In fact, you don’t even have to put crab meat in ’em. Next up I’ll try making plain ole’ Zucc Cakes, & they’ll be just as good (look at that, a vegetarian meal!).

{Recipe}

Samantha’s Zucchini Bread, adapted recipe

2 cups shredded zucchini (about 3)

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/4 cups sugar

1 tbsp honey

1/2 + 1/8 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs beaten

1/2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

mix all ingredients together, adding zucchini last. Grease bottom of loaf pan. Bake in 350 degree oven for 1 hour

Yield: 1 loaf

Thanks for stopping by!

-HerMoveableFeast-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 10:00 am

    awesome recipes.

  2. September 21, 2011 8:33 pm

    Thanks so much!
    I enjoyed reading yours too, great photos.

Leave a Reply

