Skip to content

Hanging with the Food People

November 7, 2011

On Sunday afternoon I made my way to the Washington Convention Center for the Metropolitan Cooking Show. Didn’t really know what to expect, seeing as it was my first food show. Metro Cooking boasted over 300 vendors, (i.e. 300+ free samples) a string of Food Network Stars (who cost far too much to see…I opted for a general admission ticket – no Paula for me), a cookware coated Christmas tree, & a guy in a turkey suit.

 {glimpse of paula from afar} 

Picture a massive room filled to the brim with cooking demos, cookware, & cooks. My friend & I showed up with goals to divide and conquer the room one free sample at a time, but by our third hour of grazing, my friend admitted he’d actually gotten sick of eating! I disagreed…but just barely.

What I ate (and enjoyed):

As I’ve already mentioned a dozen times, these cooking shows offer loads & loads of free samples. Primarily loads & loads of dips – Barbecue flavored, five-spice blended, mayo based, oil based. Dips were everywhere! I guess I was a sucker, ended up buying a few mixes from Heavenly Dips, their Memphis Ranch and Bacon Horseradish being the most notable. Feeling a dip-centric dinner party in my future…

 

Also fell in love with these edible flowers! Yes, these are real-life, garden-grown flowers. They’re crystalized & are the perfect cake topper…it took me a while to realize they weren’t molded from sugar. Such FOOD BEAUTY.

Another interesting food: CaviArt. Think caviar, but without the fish eggs. What? Yep, it’s made from different types of seaweed. Interesting stuff…

Also grabbed this holiday herb trio! The plants were only a dollar apiece, and have livened up my windowsill quite a bit!

 

I was happy to see the event had a few gluten-free vendors!

Thanks for stopping by!

-HerMoveableFeast-

One Comment leave one →
  1. Trish Shoemaker permalink
    November 7, 2011 8:25 pm

    That must of been a Blast to have been at! Is the Washington Center in Washington? If so We could of met up because we were in town visiting Dillon and spent the day in Washington. I should of had him call you. Anyway what fun and what Ideas!

Leave a Reply

